Washington and Oregon SR-22 Insurance Quotes

Get an SR-22 insurance quote online in minutes.

Get a Quick Quote

What is SR-22 Insurance?

An SR-22, commonly referred to as SR-22 insurance, is a certification issued by your car insurance company providing proof that you carry the required minimum amount of vehicle liability coverage for your state. If you have been involved in an accident and were not carrying minimum car insurance, most state DMVs will require you to file an SR-22. A DUI, repeat traffic offenses, and at-fault accidents are other circumstances that may require you to have an SR-22 certificate.

If you require an SR-22, Vern Fonk can help. We don’t work for a specific insurance company – we work for you, finding you the lowest rates for Washington SR-22 insurance and Oregon SR-22 insurance. As a brokerage company, Vern Fonk will shop the best rate for you. Whether you need a conventional auto insurance quote, or high-risk auto insurance quote, we can help.

Do I need a Washington SR-22 or an Oregon SR-22?

Six states – Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania – do not require SR-22 insurance. If a driver is required to carry SR-22 and he or she moves to one of these six states, they must still continue to meet the requirements legally mandated by their former state.

All vehicles in Washington and Oregon must carry a minimum liability insurance policy. If a Washington driver has his or her license suspended, the driver must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR22. This SR22 will certify the driver has the minimum amount of liability insurance for a certain period of time.

Washington SR-22 Laws

Washington drivers are required to carry liability limits of at least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 property damage.

Washington requires that an SR-22 endorsement be carried for thirty-six (36) consecutive months. If the policy is not renewed at least fifteen (15) days prior to expiration, a letter will be sent to the state, resulting in suspension of the driver’s license. Once the policy has been renewed, the state will reinstate the driver’s license. It is highly recommended that the insured renew their policy at least forty-five (45) days ahead of time.

There are two (2) ways to avoid having to obtain an SR-22 Washington endorsement. A driver can make a deposit of $60,000 to the State Treasurer or obtain a surety bond through a surety company such as Vern Fonk that is licensed to do business in Washington and Oregon.

Oregon SR-22 Laws

In the state of Oregon, the mandatory insurance law (ORS 806.010) states that every driver must insure his vehicle and that the minimum liability coverage is as follows:

Bodily injury & property damage
$25,000 each person, $50,000 every crash for injury to others; and $20,000 every crash for damage to others’ property

Protection for personal injury
$15,000 per person

Coverage for uninsured motorist
$25,000 per person; $50,000 bodily injury per crash.

By law, the driver is required to keep the certificate active for three years dating from the end date of the suspension that required it, or for a period of 3 years plus 33 days from an uninsured conviction date.

If a driver must prove “future responsibility”, he must file an actual SR-22 Oregon certificate at the DMV; it will be posted with his driving record. A driver cannot simply show his insurance card as proof. The insurance card will be required by Oregon law, to be present in a vehicle that is operated on Oregon freeways.

The DMV closely monitors compliance with SR22 requirements, and if the insurance lapses, the insurance company by law is required to notify the DMV of that fact and the driver’s license will be suspended.

REQUEST A SR-22 INSURANCE QUOTE ONLINE IN 3 EASY STEPS

An SR22 may be required for the following situations:

  • Unsatisfied judgments

  • Major convictions

  • License suspensions

  • Insurance violations

  • No insurance at the time of an accident

Do I need a Washington or Oregon SR-22?

Six states – Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania – do not require SR22 insurance. If a driver is required to carry SR22 and he or she moves to one of these six states, they must still continue to meet the requirements legally mandated by their former state.

All vehicles in Washington and Oregon must carry a minimum liability insurance policy. If a Washington driver has his or her license suspended, the driver must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR22. This SR22 will certify the driver has the minimum amount of liability insurance for a certain period of time.

How Do I Obtain an SR-22 from Vern Fonk?

If you are not currently insured with Vern Fonk, you’ll need to start by obtaining a free online SR22 rate quote. After you complete your purchase, our Vern Fonk Washington and Oregon insurance agents will begin the process of filing the SR22 certificate on your behalf. If we need any additional information in order to complete the Oregon or Washington SR22 request, a Vern Fonk insurance agent will contact you.

If you prefer to speak to one of our Vern Fonk insurance advisors to get a free quote and buy a Washington SR22 insurance policy or an Oregon SR22 insurance policy, please call (800) 654-SR22.