DUI and the Law

Car Insurance
October 24, 2014

Did you know that Washington state is #25 in the country for highest number of drunk driving deaths? Driving under the influence puts yourself and others in extreme danger, even at low speeds. If you get caught the ticket isn’t the only price you will have to pay for. DUIs can cost you big time in fines, attorney fees, lost wages and even alcohol education fees.

The minimum find for a driver caught for the first time DUI is $940.50. That is just the initial fine. Your car insurance rates may go up, or your license could even be suspended. Lawyer fees for disputing a DUI charge can be at least $2000 and that can drain your wallet pretty quickly.

What should you do if you get a DUI?

If you have gotten one or multiple DUIs, you insurance company may dramatically increase your rates or even drop your coverage all together. You should start shopping for a different car insurance company.

Vern Fonk specializes in “high risk” car insurance in Oregon and Washington. We are able to find our clients with DUI(s) on their record the best possible auto insurance rates. We believe everyone deserves a second chance and should be able to get back on the road quickly.

Here’s an info graphic that shows the average insurance costs for 5 years after a first-time DUI by city in Washington:

Infographic Source –

So if you’ve been caught with a DUI, check out the average costs above and give us a call to see how we can save you money.