Oregon Car Insurance
Get a Quick Quote
Oregon Car Insurance
Whether you are coasting along the Historic Columbia River Highway, touring the wineries of the Willamette Valley or enjoying the beaches along the coast, Oregon has so much to explore, but before you get on the road to experience the sights, make sure you know the Oregon auto insurance requirements.
Oregon Car Insurance Requirements
Oregon drivers are required to carry liability coverage, personal injury protection and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. It is important to know how each of these coverages will protect you in the event of a claim.
- Liability coverage is the insurance that will help pay for another party’s injuries or property damage that occurred from an accident you caused.
- Personal injury protection, which is also known as PIP, helps cover your medical-related expenses after an accident regardless of who was at fault. PIP also helps to pay for your passengers’ injuries as well as any lost wages that result from an accident.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage is the insurance that will help pay for your medical expenses if another driver causes an at-fault accident and is uninsured or does not have enough insurance to cover your medical bills.
OR Auto Insurance Minimum Coverage Limits
In addition to required coverages, drivers also need to carry minimum limits for each of these coverage areas. Limits are the most your insurance company will pay out in the event of a claim.
Required liability limits for Oregon insurance are usually represented as 25/50/20, which can be broken down as:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per incident
- $20,000 in property damage liability per incident
For example, if you caused an accident that injured two people and each of their medical bills were $30,000 ($60,000 in total) then your insurance policy would pay out a total of $50,000, leaving you responsible for the remaining $10,000.
The required personal injury protection limit for Oregon car insurance is $15,000 per person and the required limit for uninsured motorist coverage bodily injury is $25,000 per person.
Penalties for Driving without Auto Insurance in Oregon
Oregon law requires that all drivers carry proof of insurance coverage while they are on the road. You may be required to show this proof if you are pulled over by a police officer or if you are involved in an accident. Failure to provide proof of OR car insurance can result in fines as well as fees for impounding your vehicle and having it towed and stored.
Failure to provide proof of Oregon auto insurance also results in the suspension of your driver’s license for one year and the requirement to file an SR-22 certificate with the DMV. An SR-22 is posted to your driving record and provides proof that you meet the minimum insurance coverages that are required in Oregon. Drivers who need to file for an SR-22 are required to keep the certificate active for three years. SR-22 drivers are often considered high-risk and as a result are likely to pay higher premiums.
How to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Oregon
Oregon car insurance companies base premiums on a number of factors such as your age, your driving record, the area in which you live as well as the limits you choose. While some of these factors are beyond your control, keep them in mind as you get insurance quotes from different companies. While you want to get a policy you can afford, make sure it has the right amount of coverage to fully protect you in the event of a claim. It is also important to maintain proper coverage to avoid the risk of paying higher premiums for driving without insurance.
Get a Free Oregon Auto Insurance Quote
Request a free Oregon car insurance quote today and find out how much you can save with Vern Fonk. With Vern Fonk, you can rest assured your auto insurance coverage will be there when you need it. Only Vern Fonk can get you cheap car insurance in Oregon with the coverage you need. You can request an Oregon car insurance quote online, over the phone at (800) 455-8276, or by visiting one of our conveniently-located Oregon offices in Portland, Hillsboro, or Tigard.